UMass Boston

UMass Boston

UMass Boston's Division of Corporate, Continuing, and Distance Education (CCDE) began offering online courses in the summer of 2001, and since that time over 150 courses have been created and taught by UMass Boston faculty and adjuncts. UMass Boston has decided to recognize its online faculty's hard work, teaching excellence, creativity and technology innovation by selecting five outstanding instructors each year as 'EFellows.'

EFellows selected for 2004 are William Hagar (Biology), Michael Milburn (Psychology), Nan Zang Hampton (Counseling-Education), David Patterson (Music) and Robert Weiner (Political Science). All of this year's EFellows are UMass Boston faculty, some of whom have won the Chancellor's Distinguished Faculty Award.

Criteria for selection include having taught more than once online and having created a technically and pedagogically-advanced course or courses. EFellows must be using audio and streaming video, Prometheus tools such as grade books and group functions, Centra Symposium software, and student portfolios. EFellows are distinguished by their strong communication skills and by pedagogy that encourages collaborative and constructivist learning activities.

As EFellows, instructors will be expected to make a presentation in the Digital Series program, promote online learning within their departments, continue to experiment with technology and develop new features for existing courses and, importantly, serve as mentors to new online faculty. Already the EFellows have agreed to permit their courses to be used to beta-test software that measures course accessibility.

Rewards for EFellows' service will include a choice of either use of a Gateway tablet or a cash grant of $1000 to be used for support of their online courses, as well as a plaque and campus recognition.

Contact: Katharine Galaitsis, UMass Boston, 617.287.7918

Date: 10/14/04