Mass Technology Leadership Council Announces 2008 Technology Leadership Award Winners

Mass Technology Leadership Council Announces 2008 Technology Leadership Award Winners

Awards Recognize Outstanding Individuals and Corporations in Technology Development, Implementation and Leadership
Boston, MA, October 24, 2008 —The Massachusetts Technology Leadership Council announced the winners of the 2008 Technology Leadership Awards at its 11th annual Awards Gala yesterday evening at the Sheraton Boston Hotel. These awards recognize the best and brightest technology innovators and leaders in the Bay State. Awards are given to companies and individuals that either develop or implement innovative technology solutions. The recognition highlights recent and significant contributions to companies or the broader industry.

“The winners of the 2008 Technology Leadership Awards highlight the creativity and success of companies and individuals that define and exemplify our technology community,” said Tom Hopcroft, executive director of the Mass Technology Leadership Council. “The awards are a reflection of Massachusetts’ tradition for innovation and leadership in the technology industry.” 

The 2008 Technology Leadership Award winners include:

Emerging Innovative Company of the Year ZINK Imaging
Private Sector Company of the Year Constant Contact
Public Sector Organization UMassOnline
CEO of the Year Robert Keane, VistaPrint
CIO of the Year Rebecca Rhoads, Raytheon Company
CXO of the Year Jon Pilkington, Metatomix, Inc.
CTO of the Year Paul English,
Investor of the Year (co recipients) Jim Matheson, Flagship Ventures &
John Simon, General Catalyst Partners
Innovator Paul Graham, Y Combinator
Commonwealth Award Organization Massachusetts Institute of Technology
(accepted by Desh Deshpande)
Commonwealth Award Individual Paul Maeder, Highland Capital Partners

New this year the Council introduced the Commonwealth Award honoring the technology industry constants that drive innovation in Massachusetts.

Specifically, the Commonwealth Award recognizes the fundamental forces that have driven, are driving, and will drive our technology economy. Its purpose is to honor the leaders that contribute to the technology industry in overwhelming ways that are impossible to understate. The recipients represent the reasons why we are all working in technology, why we all thrive on innovation, and why we are all here tonight.

More than 160 high-quality nominations were generated this year. The Council’s Board of Trustees reviewed the nominations and narrowed the field to 41 finalists. Over the summer, the Council held two executive networking sessions to give Council members, Trustees and the Selection Committee the opportunity to get to know the finalists.  A select group of leaders and influencers in the Massachusetts technology community selected the 10 winners.  

The Council’s 2008 Awards Program Selection Committee included: Don Dodge, Microsoft; Cindy Bouthot, UKTI; Doug Banks, Mass High Tech, Steve O’Leary, General Catalyst; Dean Petracca, PricewaterhouseCoopers; Martin Bradley, Invest Northern Ireland; Gary Beach, CIO Magazine.

Premier sponsors included Invest Northern Ireland, Jeffries, Microsoft, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Ropes&Gray, SVB and UK Trade & Investment.  Gold Sponsors include: Akamai, Business Wire, and Raytheon.

For more information about the Council or the Awards, visit

Date: 10/24/08

Degree Finder Course Finder Request Information 877-MY-UMASS